A Rule of Thumb
It might be a little confusing to remember what is tracked with this website and what is not. The rule of thumb is this: if what you want to track is related to gold, experience, or the state of the campaign, (dungeon, encounter, etc.) then it is probably tracked with this website. If not, then you will have to track it another way.

An example of something not tracked is heroes' health, fatigue, current items, and status effects. There are a couple of options to track this sort of information. First, simply track it the old-fashioned way using the tuck boxes that came with the game. A second option is to use the "comments" box available on every player's edit page. Since these comment boxes can contain any information you desire, it can be a convenient place to keep track of things that aren't normally tracked by this website. It's not helpful to track things such as health as it changes, but instead enter it after as you finish a gaming session. Then the next time you start playing, you can resume from where you left off.

Validation
Descent Campaign Tracker will allow you to track things that do not follow the rules of Descent. For example, in the rules of Descent, the overlord is only allowed to purchase one upgrade per game week. A similar example involves encounters. Usually heroes are only allowed one death per encounter. These restrictions and others like them are intentionally not enforced. There are many possible house rules for Descent, and this website makes a best effort to allow them. It is up to the users to determine what is and what is not allowed.

Permissions
In some situations it is helpful to have more than one user able to edit a campaign. This can come up if the player who usually is tracking the campaign while you are playing isn't able to make it to a gaming session. Rather than giving out your password to Descent Campaign Tracker, you can grant other users access to edit the campaign. This is done using the "Permissions" option in the main menu.

Once a user has access to a campaign, they can make changes to it just like the creator can, but are logged in with their own username and password. The only things they cannot do is grant or remove permissions from other players, or delete the campaign entirely.

Permissions are granted on a per-campaign basis. If you are tracking multiple campaigns, giving a user access to one campaign does not give them access to your other campaigns. Since edit permissions allow a user to make potentially undesirable changes to your campaigns, only give permissions to people that you trust.

Actions
Many of the help sections refer to "actions." An action is anything that you would track in using this website. Nearly all of these actions have a link to record that action. Some examples include "Dungeon", "Death", "Time Passes", and "Train Skill." When you see the word "Action," it is usually referring to an actual link on the screen.

Most actions can be undone from the "Recent Actions" table on the bottom of the "Play" screen. You will be prompted to confirm if you indeed do want to undo the action, and if so, it will be removed. All related information about this action is also deleted when you undo an action. For example, if you used undo on a "Train Skill" action, then the player would be refunded both gold and experience as well as no longer having that skill in his or her list. Only the most recent action can be undone, and the undo link will only be visible on the "Play" screen.

Removing and Renaming Information
Sometimes you will want to remove some information from a player, but you can't undo the action since it was created awhile in the past. In most cases, information can be removed using the same screen it was added from. For example, if you wanted to remove a skill from a player, you would go to the appropriate "Train Skill" action for that player, which will display a list of their current skills. Each skill has an X next to it, allowing you to remove it. It should be noted that removing information in this way is NOT considered an action, and is therefore not undoable. Gold and experience are NOT refunded. It is very rare that you will need to remove a skill from a hero, so this will likely not need to be used. It is possible to add that same skill again later, simply by selecting the "Train Skill" action again and entering the normal information such as the skill name. This method of removing skills from a player also applies to other things, for example upgrades, avatar upgrades, and plot cards. Upgrades such as cannons are more common to be removed, and can be removed from the "Upgrade" menu.

If is possible to rename information as well, for example a skill. To do this, first remove the skill using the method above. Then add a different one, and when doing so, making sure to indicate that it doesn't require any gold or experience. This method of renaming skills applies to other types of information as well, such as upgrades, avatar upgrades, and plot cards.

Diaries
It is also possible to write a campaign diary, or by another name, a session report. This is done through the main menu "Diaries." There have been many creative session reports on Board Game Geek and Fantasy Flight's Community Forums. Using "Diaries" is a simple way to keep all of your session reports in one place and to easily share them with others.

Any person who has access to edit the campaign can add, edit, or delete diary entries.



Descent: Journeys in the Dark is ™ and © Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved. Used with permission.
Descent Campaign Tracker is created and maintained by Steven Yackel. (BGG: spazard1)  Please report any bugs you encounter. 
Descent Campaign Tracker has been hosted by Steven Yackel until 2014 for free. Since 2014 BGG: ionas / www.ht-studios.com hosts it for free.